Can he afford me living here?

I will get permanent residency. That has always been the plan.

When I initially began filling out immigration forms last summer, I expected it to be straightforward. We’re married. We’ve been together for four years. We just made a huge move together. What question could remain? Apparently, the question of whether or not he can afford me. In order for Chris to sponsor me for permanent residency, he has to be able to support me financially. But, he was unemployed last summer. I am not to become a drain on Canadian tax dollars! Immigration stalled.

Now, some six months later, Chris has a job. We have had steady income since December. In my mind he can, in fact, afford me. Therefore, it seems a good time to revisit the immigration forms. However, Canadian immigration will be looking at his total income for the last 12 months. He was unemployed from April to December, so I dare say the final number will not be impressive. I am hoping this will not be an issue for us, hoping it will not hold up our application, but in the skeptical world of immigration, one has to wonder.

